Red Queen Series Review

Hi Friends!,

The Red Queen Series. I bought the first book in the series, Red Queen, almost exactly one year ago and although the series had clearly been out for a while, I’m glad I didn’t pick it up till I did. I hate when I have such a gap in books that I don’t remember what happened in the previous one. The last and final book, Broken Throne, was only released in May of this year so I really ended up right on schedule for the series.

If you haven’t heard of the Red Queen series let me fill you in a bit. It has a Hunger Games-eque feel to it. The world is a very different place from what we know and it is one of clear division. There are the “reds” and there are the “silvers”. Reds are people like you and me. Merely normal humans who bleed red. But silvers, they’re something special. Or so they think so. They not only bleed silver blood, but they have powers. These powers vary from being able to control water to mind reading and everything in between. And the silvers have come to rule the world. Until one mystery red girl falls into a ring of electricity that should kill her and survives.

Mare Barrow is about to change the world. For better or for worse.

I flew through the Red Queen. I found myself gasping at scenes in shock and on edge waiting to see what would happen next. I couldn’t wait to start the next book, Glass Sword. Unfortunately, I didn’t feel that same excitement and eagerness in the sequel. It felt slow, with too many characters to remember. In fact, I stopped reading it many times and decided to replace the series with other books. My sister quit the series after attempting to read Glass Sword as well. However, I still felt the need to know what happened to Mare Barrow, so I pushed through. I made it to King’s Cage and felt the thrill that I remembered from the Red Queen. Victoria Aveyard once again pulled me into this world of darkness, longing, and just an ounce of hope.

The fourth book, War Storm, had my emotions fighting against each other. Unsure of whose side I was on at times or what way I wanted the tables to turn. Aveyard has a way of making even the evilest of characters seem human and deserving of love. Oh yeah, did I mention that there is a love triangle? But then again, what good series doesn’t have some sort of a love triangle?!

For me, War Storm is where the story could have and should have ended. I felt a conclusion to almost every story line the series had covered. Broken Throne, the finale, was simply a book of short stories. Some that even felt as though they had nothing to do with the series at all. It starts like a prequel before coming back to present day to conclude and I commend Aveyard on her thoroughness, I mean she really did think of everything. It reminded me of J.K. Rowling and the amount of depth and imagination that went into the world of Harry Potter. If you love the minor details and love to get what seems like “behind the scenes” kind of features, then you’ll enjoy Broken Throne much more than I did. If you’re like me and don’t need all the extras, you can just skip to the third set of short stories and call it a day.

Despite my feelings on Glass Sword, I really enjoyed following the Red Queen. I’m a big fan of series because I always become so attached to characters (well when they’re well written) and want more of their world. If you’re like me and enjoy collections, add this one to your TBR list because even as I sit here writing this, I’m a little sad to say goodbye to the world of the Red Queen.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s